UIA - Přihlašujte se do THE DAYLIGHT AWARD

16 MAY 2023



The 2024 Edition of the Daylight Award launches today, Tuesday 16 May, on the UNESCO International Day of Light.

Established in 1980 by the philanthropic foundations VILLUM FONDEN, VELUX FONDEN and VELUX STIFTUNG, and endorsed by the UIA since 2020, it is conferred biennially in two categories: The Daylight Award for Research and The Daylight Award for Architecture.

The Award places specific emphasis on the interrelation between theory and practice, and rewards individuals or a group of architects or other professionals whose projects and works showcase unique use of and dedication to daylight.

The Daylight Award for Research rewards an individual or a group of researchers whose work demonstrates a focus on the impact of daylight on human health and performance.

The Daylight Award for Architecture rewards individuals or a group of architects or other professionals whose projects and works showcase unique use of and dedication to daylight. 

Previous Laureates include Henning Larsen (Denmark) (1987), SANAA (Japan) (2014), Steven Holl (USA) (2016), Shelley McNamara and Yvonne Farrell from Grafton Architects (Ireland) (2022), and Anna Wirz-Justice (Switzerland) (2022).



• Launch: 16 May 2023

• Deadline for nominations: 15 September 2023

• Announcement of winners: 16 May 2024



• Juhani Pallasmaa (Finland), Architect

• Dorte Mandrup (Denmark), Founder of Dorte Mandrup A/S, Copenhagen

• Russell Foster (United Kingdom), Director of the Nuffield Laboratory of Ophthalmology and Head of the Sleep and Circadian Neuroscience Institute, University of Oxford

• Iwan Baan (Netherlands), Photographer

• Yvonne de Kort (Netherlands), Professor and Chair of Environmental Psychology of Human-Technology Interaction, Department of Industrial Engineering and Innovation Sciences, Eindhoven University of Technology

• Michael J. Balick (United States), Vice President for Botanical Science and Director of the Institute of Economic Botany, New York

• Gerd Folkers (Switzerland), Professor for Pharmaceutical Chemistry, ETH Zurich



The Daylight Award actively solicits nominations from organisations, architects, researchers and other professionals who have an expertise and interest in the field of daylight research and daylight in architecture. The Award also accepts individual nominations from professionals.

Nominations must be sent to the Award organisers.

For more details on the Award, click here.


For further inquiries, please contact: